Some Holy Weight in the Village Air

by Ira Joe Fisher

92 Pages, 5x8

Library of Congress Control Number:  2009928755

ISBN:  978-1-935520-03-0

Publication Date:  06/16/2009

Second Edition

   


Click below to purchase from your favorite store:

Buy from Amazon   Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from IndieBound   

Buy from Amazon UK   Buy from Amazon CA   Buy from Amazon DE   Buy from Amazon FR   Buy from Amazon JP   Buy from Amazon CN   Buy from Amazon ES

Buy from Amazon IT   

independent bookstore locations  espresso book machine locations  open library page


Ira Joe Fisher's first full-length collection of poems, Some Holy Weight in the Village Air, is written in a soft, pastoral tone, yet these poignant poems strike understanding in a subtle language that is as daring as it is beautiful. In this collection Ira Joe takes us all home only to return from the journey more enriched than when we began.

Recommendations

...this is a splendid first collection filled with passionate, wry, wise, still crazy, lucid, and original poems. Some Holy Weight in the Village Air should be read by book buyers in their thousands.

—Thomas Lux


Fisher is a master poetic craftsman and storyteller who always asks the reader to delve ever deeper into both poem and self. A heartfelt find of a book.

—Raymond Hammond


In the tradition of Edgar Lee Masters, E. A. Robinson, and Sherwood Anderson, Fisher chronicles small-town life, its scandals and secret tragedies and small undoings...a moving collection and a complex vision.

—Paula McLain


If you enjoy language that often dazzles and is always compassionate, immediate, powerful, and tender; a language that explores what it means to be human in all its complexities, then immerse yourself in Some Holy Weight in the Village Air again and again.

—Kevin Pilkington